How To Share a Printer with Google Cloud Print

When you first set up a printer with Google Cloud Print, only your account can print with it. Here’s how to share printer access with others.

Share printer with a specific person or group

You can share your printer with anyone who has a Google Account.

  1. Go on your computer and open Chrome .
  2. Make sure you’re signed in with the same Google Account you used to set up your printer.
  3. Go to google.com/cloudprint#printers.
  4. Click your printer.
  5. Click Share.
  6. Enter the Gmail address or Google Group you want to share with into the text box that appears.
  7. Optional: To let a person rename and share access to your printer, change Can print to Can manage.
  8. Click Share.

Tip: To share with a group of people, add their Google Accounts to a Google Group.

If you share with a Google Group, the group admin will get an email asking them to approve printer access for their group. When the admin approves, that group can use the printer.

Share printer with everyone

If your printer is in a public place, like a library or coffee shop, you can set it up as a public printer, and share access with everyone.

Step 1: Set up public sharing

  1. On your computer, open Chrome .
  2. Make sure you’re signed in with the same Google Account you used to set up your printer.
  3. Go to google.com/cloudprint#printers.
  4. Click your printer, then click Share.
  5. Next to “Private,” click Change.
  6. Choose Anyone with the link has access to the printer.
  7. Click Save.

Step 2: Share printer

  1. Copy the link in the Link to share box.
  2. Share the link with whoever wants to print from your printer.

Optional: To change how many pages someone can print per day, click 15 pages/day.

Tip: To shorten your printer link, use a URL shortener like goo.gl.

Stop sharing a printer

  1. On your computer, open the Chrome browser.
  2. Make sure you’re signed in with the same Google Account you used to set up your printer.
  3. Go to google.com/cloudprint#printers.
  4. Click your printer, then click Share.
  5. Remove a person or group.

Stop sharing a printer with everyone

  1. Follow steps 1-4 above.
  2. Next to “Anyone with the link has access to the printer,” click Change.
  3. Choose Private.
  4. Click Save.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
Yes
No