How To Complete a Drive Transfer in gPanel

Drive Transfer will transfer a user’s entire Drive contents to another user.

The new Transfer Ownership feature takes one user’s entire drive contents and transfers it to another user. You will find the option to transfer the ownership of a user’s drive to another user in two key places.

User Management

The first is when you pull up a user in User Management and then go to their Drive.

User Profile in gPanel

You will see the Transfer Ownership icon at the top right corner of the page.

Transfer Ownership Icon in gPanel

 

Drive

The second way to find the Transfer Ownership feature is to go to Drive and click Drive Explorer.

Drive Explorer in gPanel

You will see the Transfer Ownership icon at the top right corner of the page.

Transfer Ownership Icon in Drive Explorer in gPanel

 

1. Once you click on the Transfer Ownership icon in either places, you will see the Transfer Ownership popup and it will have the original user’s email address pre-filled based on which user you have selected in User Management or Drive Explorer.

Transfer Ownership Popup

2. Fill in the “New User” section with the email address of the user you would like the Drive contents to be transferred to. Click Transfer.

3. Once the transfer is complete, the new user will see a folder in the top level of their Drive labeled “[previous user’s email address]”. Within that folder is the entirety of the previous user’s Drive.

New Drive Folder from Transfer Ownership

Was this article helpful?