How to Restore a Recently Deleted G Suite User

We’ve all been there. You might have accidentally deleted a user prematurely, or maybe need access to a deleted user’s files. No worries, because today we’re going to walk you through the steps to restore a recently deleted G Suite user!

*Before you begin, please note:

  • You can restore a user account up to 20 days after deleting it. After 20 days the data is gone. Not even G Suite Support can restore it.
  • A user cannot be restored if the username has been given to someone else as a primary address, an email alias, or a group email address.
  • A user cannot be restored if you don’t have an available user license.
  • You must be signed in as a super administrator to restore a deleted G Suite user.
  • If you only have one Google service, restoring a user automatically reactivates access for the user. If you have more than one service, the user’s access is automatically restored for those services they had a license for—assuming you had automatic license assignment turned on for that service. Otherwise, you need to manually reassign a license for a service to the user.

How to Restore a Deleted G Suite User

1. Sign in to the Google Admin console.

2. From the Admin console Home page, go to Users.

3. Above the Users list, click Add a filter and choose Recently deleted.

4. Hover over the user you want to recover and click Recover.

5. Review the confirmation notice and then click Continue.

6. Select the organizational unit you want to assign the user to, and click Recover.

Note: It can take up to 24 hours for this change to take effect.

That’s how easy it is to restore a recently deleted G Suite user in the Admin console.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
Yes
No